Phones In class should
not be allowed!
Grades in
Swedish school is drastically dropping. Why you might wonder? I know the
biggest reasons why and if you can counter argument I will bow and applaud.
Almost all
students here in Sweden own a phone in all kinds of color and shapes. Phones
might seem like a smart thing but it makes us blind of our surrounding.
Especially In the classrooms! It’s like cigarettes, we get addicted. Teenagers
almost always check their phones for new Instagram post or new twitter retweets.
Just because they enter the classroom it doesn’t makes them stop.
Students
don’t care as much any longer as they once used to do.
I know from
own experience It’s hard not to pick up the phone when its lying next to the
math book just waiting to get picked up. I won’t only blame the students for
this. I think it’s the teacher’s responsibility to make us study and focus in
class as well.
What to do?
Collect the phones before they enter the classroom! It’s the only way out. Then
someone probably will say “I study better with music” well then let them have
the phone but if they pick it up and start surfing on it first give a warning
and if they repeat the action give them non-attendance.
It’s proven
that students get better grades! For example a British website called The
Guardian says that “Effect of ban on phones adds up to equivalent of extra week
of classes over a pupil’s school year”
Teacher’s nowadays
are to humble!
Another
example is if a student chit chat the only act the teacher will do is to “sssh”
them and get zero results. What about the other kids in the classroom that
maybe wants to study? Do as they did before, kick them out. Give them a lesson.
We are too passive and too scared to be stricter. It’s simply idiotic.
A very good text, the amount of text is perfetct so you dont get bored while Reading it, your arguments is really good as well. And you use very good English, all I want is a Little bit better ending. Good job Pontus Svensson! :) xoxo
SvaraRaderaAs a ending you could summarize Everything and put it in one sentence. xoxo :)
Radera